5 tips for achieving your goals in 2014

Just over a year ago I came up with an idea to launch a goal setting app. I had no idea how I was going to do it or where to start, but I knew I had to do it. Well on the 14th December 2013, after months of hard work, my dream came true and I launched the app, Flourish Goals. I’ve learnt a lot through the process, obviously about building mobile apps but also some important life lessons. Looking back at what I’ve learnt, here are my top 5 tips for achieving your goals in 2014.

Have absolute clarity

If there is something that you really want to achieve one thing that is very important is to have a clear vision of where you want to get to. The SMART goals framework is a useful tool but I also like to ask myself – WHAT? WHY? WHEN? WHO? WHERE/HOW?

WHAT – What exactly is it that you want to achieve?
WHY – What are the reasons you want to achieve it and are they enough to keep you going?
WHEN – When do you want to achieve the goal by?
WHO – Who do you need to help you achieve your goal?
WHERE/HOW? – What are the steps you are going to need to take to achieve your goals and where are you going to find the time to commit to doing it?

Follow your passion

Anything that is worth achieving is going to require commitment and effort. Unless you feel passionate about what you are doing the ups and downs will be very difficult. There will be hurdles to overcome, you will get told ‘no’, you will make mistakes – that’s all part of the journey and every time you have to just pick yourself up and carry on. I knew that helping others achieve their goals would be a motivating factor to keep me inspired.

Get the support of your family

With any large undertaking you are going to need support to help you along the way. By getting the buy in of friends and family upfront they are giving you their commitment to reach the finish line. Be very clear about what sacrifices will need to be made to achieve the goal such as time and money. I got my husband involved right at the start of the app build, as well as supporting me he has provided some fundamental input into the development of the app that has been invaluable and it has ultimately bought us closer together.

Done is better than perfect

Perfection is impossible and sometimes it’s better just to get something to market and test it rather than delay a launch and waste time and money on features that may not even be used. I made sure I kept moving by being pragmatic about what would go into the first version. If I’d tried to launch a perfect app I’m not sure I would have ever got around to launching it.

Just do it

I had the idea for the app over a year ago but I didn’t really start doing anything about it until 6 months later – what a waste! I let the rest of life takeover and was also little paralysed by fear of the unknown and that what I would do might be a failure. As soon as I started taking action I started to feel more confident. I still have moments of self-doubt but this doesn’t compare to the regret I would have felt if I’d never done anything with the idea. An idea in itself isn’t of any value unless you do something with it.

So overall yes it has been a challenging journey, but I’ve learnt so much and done things I never thought possible. I’ve had my first radio interview and been published in the press. At the end of the day if nothing else I’ve created something that I’ve always wanted to use myself. Of course I hope it’s more than that and that I help many others achieve their goals. Whatever 2014 holds for you make sure you follow your dreams and do what you love – Happy New Year!….and sorry I haven’t been blogging – I’ve been building an app!

You can download Flourish Goals on the link below:
https://itunes.apple.com/gb/app/flourish-goals/id775101914?mt=8

 

Posted in Change, Experiences, Family, Goals, Work, working mum

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,239 other followers

Follow me on Twitter
Categories
