What do you want to be?

I hear a lot of people talking about what they don’t want to do but not many people can clearly articulate what they do want to do either. I believe getting closer to your true passion  starts with understanding more about yourself.  It can also help you to understand how you can perform better in your current situation. There are 3 personality tests below that will help you get closer to understating who you are, how you are perceived by others and what you can improve. This gives a quick guide to compare them at a glance. These test are also great for understanding how you work in teams and I often use them for building and managing teams.

The quick and free one

This animal types test is a very simple, freely accessible test that give you a quick output. The results of this quiz will help you understand how you come across to others, what your communication strengths are and how you can flex your style to relate better to other people. I’m manly Lion with a bit of monkey which gives a pretty spot-on summary description of strengths and weakness:

Strengths: Independent, Goal-orientated, Decisive

Weaknesses: Aggressive, Impatient, Intolerant

Try it for yourself…

http://www.speak-first.com/resources/quizzes/which-animal-are-you.aspx

The one that tells you how you thrive

The Kolbe A Index measures a person’s instinctive method of operation (MO), and identifies the ways he or she will be most productive. It need only be taken once, since these innate abilities do not change over time. For me, as a 4394 it said that I my ideal job would allow me to innovate new ideas and tackle a variety of challenges which is very accurate. I’m currently on a rotational leadership programme so it’s helped me think about what job I should do next. Take the test here: https://www.kolbe.com/index.cfmcircuit=QPDGateway&routeId=39

The most well-known one

Myers Briggs is one of the most well know personality typing

Myers Brigstests. Using their online test you can find out your type and how knowing more about it can help you in communicating with people, planning your future, and even getting to know yourself better. This is the test of used most throughout my career and on my MBA, mainly through facilitated sessions. It’s useful because it’s quite in-depth and lots of people know their type. I’m an ENTJ – life’s natural leaders and the same as Margaret Thatcher !

Take the test here https://www.mbticomplete.com/en/index.aspx and find out celebrities that share your type here http://www.celebritytypes.com.

At different stages of me life these test have helped me to understand myself, my colleagues and even my family. They are a very useful starting point for getting to know yourself better and working out your next step for career and life plans.

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Change, Confidence, Goals, Home, Work, working mum

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,239 other followers

Follow me on Twitter
Categories
